Blogging… a year on and what I’ve learnt!

p1040747

We all blog for various reasons and social media is awash with many types and styles of bloggers, some doing it as a hobby and others taking it a bit more serious and possibly or hoping to make it their full-time job!  It’s fiercely competitive in the blogging world and anyone thinking it is an easy and a glamorous life, were you can make lots of money instantly – I think it’s easier said than done!  It all depends on what you want from it, how hard you are prepared to work on your blog and having lots of the right contacts and possibly a few other factors – like age and finding the perfect niche which inspires both you as a blogger and your readers or followers!  Of course not forgetting time – especially if you already have a busy schedule! When you love what you do… it will always shine through!

p1040547-1

When did I began my journey into blogging?

I began blogging just over a year ago, in February 2016, after following many of my favourite bloggers over the past 10 years, when it was a very different in the blogging world back then!  I had planned to start blogging many years ago but kept putting it off.  I guess I was just not ready, or not had the confidence or thought everything needs to be perfect but now I realise if you wait for perfection it will never happen – you would never take the plunge!  I suppose, being a new blogger we may be judged or criticised but hay a year on and I feel much more confident within myself and really have learnt a lot along the way.  I guess I have such a love and passion of food, flowers, interiors and styling and enjoy sharing my finds and a glimpse into my approach…  a simple way of living with the little things which make me smile along the way!

img_2298

So why or what made me venture into the world of blogging?

Firstly, I feel I’m a creative type of person and good with my hands (I’m a Holistic Wellbeing Therapist so that works well!!) a visual addict and always enjoyed reading many of my favourite blogs over the years.  However, I was also drawn to blogging as a therapy in bringing myself back to good health after a long period of suffering from depression.  During this period I was in a very dark place and unable to tap into my creative side, even though I knew doing something creative was the best thing in aiding recovery.  Anyway, after many years of suffering I slowly began to feel excited and inspired about creative stuff and thought this is the perfect time to begin blogging, after years of planning!

P1040946

I must say it has been an amazing and exciting journey for me and I have discovered a love of photography and styling!!  I don’t really follow many rules, apart from capturing what catches my eye and always follow my heart!  All those periods in my life which were filled with anxiety and depression are now replaced with happy creative thoughts –  thats a result!  So I think its upwards and onwards and so long as I love and enjoy blogging – long may it last!

p1020070

What have learnt along the way?

I think I learnt very quickly not to be so hard on myself, focusing on what I truly love and inspires me – finding my little own niche!  Comparing ourselves to others is just destructive, (we all do it in life!) as we all have our unique strengthens and weaknesses.  Its worth remembering, even the most successful bloggers will have doubts, off days and just as many insecurities!  After all is is a learning process and ultimately we should remind ourselves the reason we began blogging!  For me it’s important to be true to myself, so my readers catch a glimpse of my personality!

img_1718-1

What do I use to capture my photos?

Believe it or not, just over a year ago I had never taken any photos, (a complete novess!)  never mind own a camera.  I don’t have anything fancy, just a point and shoot – Panasonic Lumix TZ70, an amazing little camera, but I still have a lot to learn!  I think so many people make the mistake of spending lots on an expensive camera, with all the bells and whistles and often there’s no need, especially when your just starting and learning!  I feel its good to start off small and work your way up, as I personally don’t use half the features.  I barely vere off using the automatic mode and sometimes I just use my phone – ‘the best camera is the one you have on you’!!  Someone once said to me, you can invest in the best camera and still take poor images and its not the camera its the person behind it!  I must say I really feel like I have progressed in taking photos – I’m definitely no photographer but continually learning and loving this journey of discovery and capturing what inspires me!

img_2294

Lastly and by no means least, for all my lovely readers and friends which make the effort to read and follow my little blog and also follow me on Instagram a huge thank you – It really makes me smile inside!!  I hope you enjoy my honesty and content and if you have any thoughts, comments or feedback, then I would love to hear from you all!

Mairead x

4 thoughts on “Blogging… a year on and what I’ve learnt!

  1. Congrats on your anniversary!

    When I first started blogging (10 years now!!) I didn’t tell anyone I knew in real life that I had a blog! It was blogging that got me into photography 🙂 I use my iPhone for most of my blog photos too.

Leave a Reply

