Embracing calmness… minimal fuss interiors

tumblr_nn7vnmkbqi1r3hiwxo1_1280
Cereal

Hi everyone, I hope you all had a wonderful and restful Christmas and now ready to embrace the year ahead!  I have been somewhat slow on the New Year uptake, but a rested body is much more creative and productive mind!

As much as I adore the Christmas period, I love the calmness and stillness which January brings, with minimal fuss.  We have time to breathe, reflect, pare back and strip down all the unnecessary, in all aspects of our lives.

140729-377b0b316f874500889acffbbe0d380e
Melo

So the decorations are well and truly packed away and our homes are looking a little less atmospheric… minus all those twinkly lights!  However, I see this as a perfect opportunity to reconfigure our interior spaces and make simple changes in the overall look and feel of our homes.

tdc-160412_norsu_dining
The Design Chaser

As much as I love dark moody colour tones with an eclectic mix, I’m also drawn towards uncluttered,  minimal interior spaces, with clean lines, soft shapes and muted tones.  They just ooze elegance, simplicity and inject a serene and calm feeling into our homes.  So with this in mind I have collated some of my coveted personal favourites.  One can only but dream!

hemswedishgetawaydesignhunter
The Design Hunter

How about this stunning living area, a Scandinavian getaway in Linköping, Sweden.  The introduction of a mustard throw brings a splash of colour and adds interest to this beautiful and restful space.

140729-24c40d8b11fa401d88cb49543af8695a
Melo

Handcrafted Swedish minimalism… aesthetically humble and beautifully designed.  I am swooning after this amazing dinning table which would work perfectly with my Hay chairs! I think i will need to settle for less on this occasion!

©Helen Powell 2016
The Design Hunter

I love this simple approach, using a pale but interesting colour palette with accents of copper accessories and a monochrome wall of art.  So if you fancy a change its very easy to add a pop of colour, depending on your mood or time of year.

Melo

If you crave muted tones and that uncluttered feeling in your home, then this interior no doubt will calm the senses and soothe the soul.  However, I wonder how long they would remain in such a beautiful pristine state!  Kid-free zones I would think!

Are you very strict on your interior choices? Only choosing a particular style or are you more adventurous and like to experiment with various colours, moods and styles!  I hope this gets the creative juices flowing and inspires you to make some changes!  Enjoy and have fun!!

Mairead x

 

One thought on “Embracing calmness… minimal fuss interiors

  1. I have really been into interior design and decorating for the past year. My favorite style is probably the minimal one with a splash of color, the muted tones, and simple aesthetics make me feel so calm just by looking at them. Unfortunately don’t have my own place yet so can’t decorate how i want to, but as you said “one can only dream” right?
    http://www.lacasabloga.com

Leave a Reply

