Nussmakronen

Hi everyone, I had to share these delicious looking hazelnut cookies, calledNussmakronen’. This recipe is from the ‘Sentient Baker’, an inspiring read with such beautiful photography.

I have made similar little morsels using almonds and coconut, therefore, as I’m mad about nuts, especially hazelnuts in baking, I have to make this hazelnut version. I will possibility add some spice and dip in chocolate as Amber suggested. Tweaking recipes is my favourite, I rarely stick to the original, I guess its good to experiment!

As I’m left with eye yolks, which rarely is the case, I have a particular recipe in mind, in the form of warm and spicy deliciousness – ‘Spelt and Ginger Cookies’. A perfect autumnal treat!

So give these hazelnut cookies a try and keep you eyes peeled for a recipe on some delicious spelt and ginger cookies on my blog. Happy weekend baking and enjoy!

Mairead x

THE SENTIENT BAKER

This Autumn, Tuesday nights have turned into a bit of a ‘thing’ with a few friends of mine; themed evenings with food and wine and relaxed, female company. This week someone brought soup, another some red wine and our host provided rustic, twisted bread sticks from the bakery. I naturally assigned myself in charge of ‘dessert’ and I needed to throw something together that was as paired down as the food. Cupboard trawling. Internet trawling. I started to formulate ‘macaroons’ in my head. Not those tiny, French, pastel-coloured monstrosities, but old-school, chewy, nutty macaroons. I remember eating these big, chewy discs of almond mounted on edible rice paper as a child.

These hazelnut cookies are German in origin (Nussmakronen) and are traditionally baked in their masses around Christmas time. To be authentic they need to be baked on wafers, which are similar to rice paper discs (or the discs used in…

View original post 380 more words

Leave a Reply

