A closer look into the magic of… Rowallane Gardens

p1020761

Hello everyone, Happy October!  It’s Autumn time and my favourite season.  So time to think about and plan our gardens for the coming  year. I find it difficult to resist, not buying copious amounts of Spring bulbs, especially tulips in all colours and varieties!

As much as I love urban living and its green spaces, its always good to get totally immersed among the flowers and greenery and loosing  myself, in the wilderness of a country garden.  A local park just doesn’t fulfil my inspiration.

Rowallane Gardens and House is a national trust property in Saintfield, Northern Ireland and  I always enjoy exploring.  Each visit I come across something new and interesting depending on the time of year!

This time I was in search of much needed inspiration for my tiny patch of front garden.  It is amazing what ideas you pick up, not only in the variety of flowers, but in terms of Colours, textures and hard landscaping.  A garden, however small creates a feel good factor and nothing is more rewarding or joyous than an abundance of striking flowers.  My favourite place to lose myself!  I guess gardens evolve over time and as I’ve learnt  in the past, good planning is key to a successful garden were everything grows in perfect harmony!

As a flower lover, gardens just give me so much inspiration and I become totally absorbed and lost among the amazing array of colours, sounds and smells of the surrounding flowers and trees.  Rubeckia offers a such burst of colour around this time of year and come in many varieties, returning year after year.  These will most definitely be featuring in my garden.
I think when in need of some downtime nothing beats getting outdoors away from all our daily distractions.  For me, I love to explore and indulge in taking lots if snaps, capturing my magical moments!

p1020641p1020664p1020685

How about the masses of vivid pink-purplish Japanese Toad Lily and the beautiful texture and pink hues of sedum.  These work amazingly as a cut flower, adding colour and contrast  and last for ever. So definitely worth growing in your garden!

Living in a damp climate means there is never a shortage of moss!  I think what makes gardens so special is the variety of foliage, shades of greenery and striking range of colours and textures all working in perfect harmony.

I adore Autumn time, although the leaves hadn’t fully changed yet and it was quite wet at the gardens, this didn’t dampen my enthusiasm. It was still misty and magical, as living in the northern hemisphere I’m very accustomed to a damp, cold and a moody climate!

Are you a garden lover?  If so how do you find inspiration?  I guess it is a huge learning process and most definitely a labour of love. So it will take some time for my little front garden to evolve and if you are like me, the planting is the most exciting bit and then seeing the end result. The maintenance and weeding comes after…  if only we could miss this part!!

Mairead x

One thought on “A closer look into the magic of… Rowallane Gardens

  1. Reblogged this on Harmonizing Therapies and commented:

    Hi everyone, I would like to share this beautiful post from my lifestyle blog over at my yellow jumper.

    I find gardens such magical places to experience and always love to explore, picking up so much inspiration along the way. Hope you enjoy!

    Mairead x

Leave a Reply

